Happy Birthday Dad

Looking back when I was a child you were a shadow in the daytime

Working nights to make a way for your family

Never had a need un met

Food, Shelter, clothes

Looking back when I was a teen the shadow still remained

Your time limited but you always filled our needs

Cars, Dresses, Boys

Looking back when I was a young adult

I flew away into another mans care

Choices of life

Wonder, missing,worry

When I was a adult my eyes opened and saw all the pain

But you were always there

In comes depression, unemployment

poor choices

Now I find myself looking back at love

A Father’s love for a child that was never forgotten

Only so many years left to learn who you really are

So many things I thank God for in you

Forgiveness, Faithfulness

Compassion

Hope the Lord blesses me with all the love that you have shown me.

Happy Birthday

Dad

Leave a Reply

